Awards, Events

National Building Museum to Present 2021 Honor Award to SOM

We're proud to announce that the National Building Museum (NBM) will be presenting its 2021 Honor Award to SOM. NBM is one of the world’s leading museums of architecture, and its annual Honor Award recognizes organizations that have made significant contributions to the nation’s built heritage. 

As we celebrate this honor, SOM is transforming the award into a Climate Change Call to Action — a challenge to the building industry to recognize the urgency of the climate crisis and undertake a transformational shift in how we design, build, and do business. We will kick off with a series of climate-related panel discussion events co-hosted by NBM and SOM, and will culminate with the virtual gala on June 17.

“At the onset of a decade that may very well determine the future of our planet, SOM is dedicated to leading the building industry’s response to the climate crisis through action and advocacy,” said Design Partner Chris Cooper. “SOM’s planned programs, which bring together leaders from a variety of fields, will make the case for bold and immediate action to protect the Earth’s resources and support the transition to a zero-carbon economy.”

The June 17th celebration will center around SOM’s Call to Climate Action and feature Senator Cory Booker and Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti as keynote speakers and Senator Edward J. Markey as a guest speaker. Booker and Garcetti will be interviewed by David M. Rubenstein, Co-Founder and Co-Chairman of The Carlyle Group, and the event will be hosted by Tony Kornheiser of ESPN’s "Pardon the Interruption".

The four panel discussion events leading up to the celebration will be held weekly beginning on May 19. Among the topics to be addressed are the role of technology in decarbonization, the disproportionate effect of climate change on vulnerable communities, and the potential for an all-electric future. These events will be hosted by SOM’s Yasemin Kologlu, Dawveed Scully, Marla Gayle, and Kristopher Takács, respectively.

Please visit for more information about the award celebration.